Find Your Aaron and Hur

victoryolord

A few years ago, I sensed the Lord gave me a very specific word for my life. What I sensed was that He was telling me that I needed to have a small group of people in my life who would be to me like Aaron and Hur were to Moses. If you don’t know what this means, it refers to an account from the Old Testament in the book of Exodus. The Israelites were fighting against the Amalekites, according to the Lord’s instructions. The Lord gave them a very sure way to know if they would have victory or not. Read this passage of Scripture in Exodus 17:11–13 to see the full details:

 

And so it was, when Moses held up his hand, that Israel prevailed; and when he let down his hand, Amalek prevailed. But Moses’ hands became heavy; so they took a stone and put it under him, and he sat on it. And Aaron and Hur supported his hands, one on one side, and the other on the other side; and his hands were steady until the going down of the sun. So Joshua defeated Amalek and his people with the edge of the sword.

 

What I sensed God was saying to me through this was that I was going to face battles in my life, and I would need to be able to keep my hands directed toward heaven throughout these battles. However, if I tried to do this with my own strength, I would fail. I must have people in my life who would act like Aaron and Hur, holding up my hands when I don’t have the strength to do it on my own.

This has come to be such a vital part of my walk with the Lord. Another Scripture puts it this way: “Though one may be overpowered by another, two can withstand him. And a threefold cord is not quickly broken” (Ecc. 4:12). One of the lies the enemy often speaks to God’s children is that they just need to buckle down and do it. So many people try to bear their burdens alone, thinking they have enough strength within them to see them through—but they don’t. God’s plan is by design: We must have people in our lives who can build us up when we’re down and support us when we’re fighting. Thus, we must open ourselves up to trust these people as we invite them into our lives.

For me, this has made all the difference. Just this week, I was feeling strong oppression from the enemy. Unfortunately, I did not reach out for help the first couple days; I wish I would have. However, by the third day, it finally dawned on me that I needed to reach out for prayer. I asked several prayer warriors for support, and very soon after that, I began to feel the oppression life. It felt like a new day.

Through all of this, I have learned that, when I am struggling, I need to reach out to someone I trust who will pray for me and encourage me. I have learned that I do not have enough strength within myself to keep my own hands up for the entire duration of the battle. I am so thankful the Lord has blessed me with several Aarons and Hurs in my life, and I am also thankful to be an Aaron/Hur to others.

Bottom line: Don’t try to go it alone. Your mission is too important and your life is too valuable for you to try to fight your battles with your own strength. Trust the Lord for His strength, yes. But also trust the Lord to send you godly individuals who can strengthen you and build you up as they keep your arms directed toward Heaven. This will make a world of difference.

Leave a Reply

