Behind the Songs: “Watch and Pray”

2566086179_4b23fbe7fb_o.jpg

This may seem odd, but for the longest time, I really wanted to write a song in minor key. Most of the songs God has given me have been sung in major keys, so I just wanted to write something a little different. Songs written in minor key tend to have a certain intensity about them, and it was on my heart to write a song with that type of intensity that would be a song of deep prayer and intercession.

Well, one day when I wasn’t even looking for it, I was sitting at my keyboard and plunking out a little tune. This tune began to sound like it could be a new song, and—what’s more—it was a tune in a minor key! As I played the tune, the following lyrics began to form in my mind fairly quickly: “Creator God, Creator of the earth and sky, we’re waiting for You, waiting for You.”[i]

Around this time, I had also been studying a lot about Jesus’ prayer life and the time when He told His disciples to “watch and pray” while in the garden of Gethsemane. Jesus would go over to a solitary spot in the garden to be alone in prayer while His disciples were also supposed to be keeping watch and staying fervent in prayer. However, each time Jesus returned to them, He found them sleeping instead of praying. His response to them was: “What! Could you not watch with Me one hour? Watch and pray, lest you enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak” (Matt. 26:40–41).

As I pondered this passage, the Lord continued to download the lyrics of the song to me. My heart’s cry is to stay fervent in prayer and to be alert and watchful at all times. The entire song really is a prayer from my heart, and it can also be sung while picturing the scene of the disciples with Jesus in the garden. Please consider making this your prayer as well:

 

Creator God, Creator of the earth and sky, we’re waiting for You, waiting for You
Almighty God, You’re fairer than the sons of man; we’re waiting for You, waiting for You.
We’re waiting for You, waiting for You, for You, Oh, Lord.

Now keep us from evil. Let us not perish.

“Watch and pray. Don’t fall into temptation.”
We will wait for You.

 

 

[i] Words and Music to “Watch and Pray” © 2012 Jason B. West.

Leave a Reply

