So You Think You’re Entitled?

IMG_0840

Recently, I invited myself to a party. It was a pretty lame party. I was the only guest on the list. After all, no one wants to attend your own pity party. But let’s back up. How and why did this happen?

Well, a variety of factors led up to it, but it was primarily connected to a busy schedule and a full plate of things to do. And through all this, I became stressed and began to think I deserved something or another for all my trouble. The more I mulled this over in my mind, the more I began to feel entitled to certain things. Suddenly, it seemed that the whole world became indebted to me.

Thankfully, Someone came in and crashed my party—and that Someone was God. He lovingly but firmly chided me, saying, “So you think you’re entitled, huh?”

I didn’t want to listen. But He kept at it.

He continued, “I sent My Son for you. He threw away everything He deserved to take on the guilt, shame, suffering, and pain He did not deserve. So do you want to tell Me again why you think you’re entitled?”

I didn’t know what to say.

Then He took me to this verse: “You have been treated generously, so live generously” (Matthew 10:8, MSG). He showed me that He has called me to live a generous life because of the fullness of generosity He has already given me. “We love because He first loved us” (1 John 4:19, NIV). We serve because He first served us. We give because He first gave to us.

We were entitled to nothing, yet He gave us everything. He didn’t owe us anything, but He gave us His life. How can we respond in any way but with gratitude, thanksgiving, praise, generosity, and servitude? He doesn’t force us to serve Him out of obligation. But a life of sacrifice is our reasonable act of worship to Him (Romans 12:1).

Okay, God, You got me. Forgive me for letting my selfishness get in the way of serving You. “Show me how to love like You have loved me.”[1] Amen.

[1] From the song “Hosanna” by Brooke Fraser and Hillsong Publishing.

One thought on “So You Think You’re Entitled?

  1. I think you are being too hard on yourself – but I love you anyway – thanks for the authenticity – Pastor Daddy

Leave a Reply

