Who Will Ascend? …Do You Know Him?

John 3:16
John 3:16 (Photo credit: Martin LaBar)

Dear friends,

The Word of God declares, “[Jesus is] the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through [Him]’” (John 14:6). I have written much about Jesus in this blog. But I would be remiss to conclude this blog series without giving a special opportunity to you, the reader. That opportunity is to go beyond just reading about Jesus and to “ascend,” so to speak, to a greater level by actually knowing Him and trusting Him as your Lord and Savior. According to the verse above, Jesus is the only way to the Father; He is the only way by which men may receive eternal life.

You may ask, “What does that mean?” Well, some people call it “getting saved” or a “salvation experience.” Others call it “giving your heart to Jesus” or “asking Jesus into your heart.” All those terms are human attempts to describe the miracle that takes place when we, as fallen and sinful people, put our faith in Jesus Christ as the One Who saves us from the penalty of our sins: eternal torment and separation from God.

Unfortunately, many people overcomplicate salvation, declaring that people have to do x, y, and z in order to obtain eternal life. However, the Bible is clear. John 3:16 states it best: “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.” If you want eternal life, you must simply believe (i.e. put your faith) in Jesus Christ: That He is Who He says He is (the Son of God), that He did what He said He did (died on a cross as a man for the sins of the world and rose to life victoriously on the third day), and that He will do what He says He will do (return to take His church home with Him at the end of the age). Don’t overcomplicate this. If you understand that you are a sinner in need of a Savior and believe that Jesus is that Lord and Savior, then I believe you are already saved at this moment. This is justification.

“But what about my lifestyle?” you may ask. “Surely, God demands some sort of good works in order for me to be saved.” You are partially right. God demands righteousness and holiness, but that follows as a result of salvation, not a requirement for salvation. This is called sanctification, and it is a cooperative work in which God and we participate together in the lifelong pursuit of holiness. You don’t become perfect immediately after putting your faith in Christ. Rather, the Lord starts you on a lifelong journey of learning how to live as He has called you to live, not according to the flesh, but according to the spirit.

Finally, at the end of our earthly lives, the Lord will take us home to live with Him eternally. This is glorification. Do you understand this message?

If you feel the nudging of the Lord to commit your life to Him, do it right now. Don’t waste another minute without believing in Him. Pray and devote your life to Him. I want you to understand that your prayer is not what saves you; you are saved by grace and through faith, not through a token prayer. However, it is often helpful to mark your deciding moment with a prayer of dedication to God. With that in mind, I encourage you to pray a prayer in your own words to God right now. If you aren’t sure what to say, I have even included an example prayer to help get you started. (But please don’t simply ride on the back of my prayer. Personalize it for your own situation.)

Jesus, I declare this day that I believe in You, that You are the Son of God, that You came to earth as a man, died for my sins, and rose again as the victor over death. I commit my life to You eternally. Please help me to live for You, and sanctify me according to Your truth. I am so excited to live eternally for You and with You!

If you made a conscious decision to believe in Jesus today and to live for Him eternally, I am absolutely ecstatic for you! It is the best and most important decision of your life. Please do me a favor. Email me at runningfree@cox.net if you made this decision. Tell me if you have any further questions as well. Get into a good Bible-believing church if you aren’t already attending one. Keep reading your Bible and developing your prayer life every day. All these things will help you in your Christian walk and your sanctification process.

If you did not yet make a decision but would like more information, please email me at the above address too. I would love to chat with you and help in any way I can.

For His cause,

 
Jason West
runningfree@cox.net

4 thoughts on “Who Will Ascend? …Do You Know Him?

  1. When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Thanks!

  2. Consequently, after spending a long time on the internet eventually We’ve uncovered an individual that definitely can know what they are discussing thank you a great deal great post

Leave a Reply

